Many young adults experiment with alcohol in social settings before they reach the legal drinking age of 21. Although this is commonplace, it is still illegal and there are consequences for those who decide to consume alcohol and then drive before turning 21.
According to the state of New Jersey, those under the age of 21 can face driving-related penalties for simply purchasing or drinking alcohol at a location that holds an alcoholic beverage license. For example, young adults who purchase and consume alcohol while underage may lose their driver’s license for up to six months and need to pay a $500 fine.
Those under 21 who buy and drink alcohol without a driver’s license can also experience consequences related to driving. For example, those who commit this crime may will still have their license suspended after they receive become legally licensed to drive. They may also need to participate in an alcohol treatment or education program.
Penalties for underage DUI
Those with a driver’s license under the age of 21 who drink with any amount of alcohol in their system could face consequences under New Jersey’s zero-tolerance law. Some of these penalties include the requirement to participate in community service, loss of driving privileges for between 30 and 90 days and referral to an IDRC.
The consequences of underage drinking and driving can go beyond legal penalties. Some of these consequences can include difficulty finding a job and consequences related to college admission and continuing enrollment.