Driving while intoxicated is a serious offense in New Jersey, but do you know exactly what could happen to you should you face charges for this crime? A first-time offender may feel overwhelmed with the potential penalties that result from a DWI, and repeat offenders may face even stiffer consequences.
Understanding what to expect can help you go through the process of fighting a DWI charge and may even allow you to get reduced or dismissed charges.
Depending on whether the DWI charge is your first offense or a repeat offense, you could face fines of up to $1,000.
A first offense, with a blood alcohol level under 0.08%, can result in up to 30 days of jail time, while a third offense, or more, within 10 years of the previous offenses, means up to 180 days in jail.
Revoked driver’s license
In New Jersey, even a first-offense DWI results in driver’s license suspension. While it is only suspended for three months, a third offense means a 10-year suspension, which can be life-altering.
The state requires 30 hours of community service for a second DWI offense. However, if you get the DWI in a school zone, you must complete 60 hours of community service.
Intoxicated Driver Resource Center Program
New Jersey also requires a program called IDRC for all DWIs, regardless of whether it was a first-time charge or a subsequent one. The number of offenses you have determines the time spent in the program, but it can count against jail time in some cases.
If you are facing a DWI, it is important to know what to expect in case you want to fight your charges.