New Jersey requires drivers to stay sober behind the wheel. When an officer arrests a motorist with a blood alcohol content above 0.08% or obvious impairment, he or she could receive significant legal penalties. For drivers younger than 21, the legal BAC threshold is 0.01%. 

The following are possible consequences for a DUI conviction in New Jersey. 

First-time DUI conviction 

Drivers who receive a DUI in New Jersey will receive these potential penalties for a conviction: 

  • Two consecutive six-hour intoxicated driver education courses 
  • Auto insurance surcharge of $3,000 split over three years 
  • License suspension for three months 
  • Fines of $250 to $400 plus $425 in administrative fees 
  • Up to 30 days in jail 

In addition, drivers with BAC of 0.10% or higher, as well as those arrested under the influence of a controlled substance behind the wheel, will receive a minimum license suspension of seven months up to a possible maximum of 12 months. They are subject to at least $300 and up to $500 in fines. 

Second-time DUI conviction 

For a subsequent DUI, a New Jersey driver could receive: 

  • Evaluation by the state’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and completion of treatment recommendations 
  • Auto insurance surcharge of $3,000 split over three years 
  • License suspension for at least 12 months and up to 24 months 
  • Fines of $500 to $1,000 
  • At least 48 hours and up to 90 days in jail 
  • Ignition interlock device for two to four years upon license reinstatement 
  • 30 days of community service  

In addition to these base penalties, drivers may receive additional sanctions depending on the circumstances of the case. For example, refusal to take a breath test carries a fine of $300 to $500 and an interlock ignition device requirement on top of court-ordered DUI penalties. DUI with a passenger age 17 or younger can result in an additional charge of disorderly conduct.